no right click

Friday, October 26, 2012

New Tech Blog

Any of the readers of my drifting blog that are into computers and electronics should also check out my recently created Technology blog at

Friday, October 19, 2012

Formula DRIFT Insider Episode 13

This episode of Formula DRIFT Insider shows the action from Irwindale leading up to the event finish and championship winner.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Formula DRIFT Irwindale and Championship Results

Vaughn Gittin Jr was taken out in the round of 16 by Pat Mordaunt and Dai Yoshihara was beaten by Kyle Mohan in the Top 32 round.  This opened door for Rhys Millen and Daigo Saito to take the championship crown.

Millen and Saito met in the Top 4, with Saito coming out on top.  Saito then went on to defeat Justin Pawlak in the finals and win the event, with Millen being defeated in the consolation round by Ryan Tuerck.

The final points totals ended up being:

Daigo Saito 548.5
Vaughn Gittin 529
Rhys Millen 509.25
Justin Pawlak 501
Ryan Tuerck 465.50

With that, for the first time since the rookie season of Formula DRIFT a rookie takes the championship.

Photo source from Formula DRIFT website.

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Formula Drift Round 7 - Title Fight at Irwindale Matchups

Here are the matchups that will be seen during the Top 32 Round of the Irwindale Formula Drift event.

Rhys Millen vs Kenny Moen
Justin Pawlak vs Walker Wilkerson
Frederic Aasbo vs Darren McNamara
Chris Forsberg vs Conrad Grunewald
Ken Gushi vs Toshiki Yoshioka
Ryan Tuerck vs Ryan Kado
Tyler McQuarrie vs Joon Maeng
Chelsea Denofa vs Pat Mordaunt
Vaugh Gittin vs Nick D'Alessio
Tony Brakohiapa vs Michael Essa
Matt Field vs Luke Lonberger
Matt Powers vs Jeremy Lowe
Daigo Saito vs Taka Aono
Dave Briggs vs Robbie Nishida
Alex Lee vs Tony Angelo
Kyle Mohan vs Dai Yoshihara

With the points after qualifying and factoring in that each driver is guarenteed 24 event points for participating in the Top 32 round, Vaughn Gittin leads Daigo Saito by 26.5 points.  At this stage, the top 6 drivers have a mathematical shot at taking the 2012 Formula DRIFT Championship.

Other than points, drivers will mostly be letting it all hang out for this event, since they will be trying their hardest to put on a good show for their sponsors and teams.

Kevin Wells, the Formula DRIFT Technical Director, had x-rays of the Top 7 point position cars done to determine if there was any illegal ballasts placed on the cars' frame rails, which if found would disqualify that driver from the event and effectively eliminate them from winning the championship.

154036_Monster Halloween Sale

Friday, September 28, 2012

Catching Up

It has been a little while since I last posted anything on here.  To anyone that comes by frequently, I apologize for that.  Let's see what has happened since the last post.

Daigo Saito took 1st place in the latest D1GP with his Achilles Tire JZX100 Chaser edging out Tetsuya Hibino's UP Garage Droo-p Toyota GT86.

Forrest Wang had a big weekend in Texas with the final round of XDC.  Forrest qualified in the top spot and then went on to beat Mike Pollard for the event win, which also crowned Forrest as the 2012 XDC Champion, ahead of Mike Pollard, Nate Hamilton, and 2-time reigning champion Chelsea Denofa.

Photo from Wrecked Magazine

And probably one of the bigger announcements made in the past couple weeks in the drifting world was the discontinuation of the partnership between Rhys Millen Racing and Hyundai, which is detailed in this press release:

I think that's all the big stuff for now.  I'll try to keep more on top of the drift world happenings and get motivated to post them here.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Ryan Tuerck's 1JZ S13 - Dyno

Ryan Tuerck recently uploaded this video featuring his 1JZ-powered S13.

Monday, September 17, 2012

Friday, September 14, 2012

Wilwood Brakes Formula DRIFT Ticket Giveway

Wilwood has announced a contest for tickets to the Final Round of the 2012 Formula DRIFT season.

"Official Rules Formula Drift Ticket Give Away: After round 6 “After Dark” Las Vegas name the top 8 Formula Drift drivers in points order that are utilizing Wilwood Disc Brake Calipers on their Formula Drift Competition Car. Submitting the correct drivers in order will enter your name into a random drawing along with other contest participants that also answered correctly. VIP Tickets will be awarded trough a random drawing and awarded to 3 entered participants. The first name pulled will receive 4 VIP tickets, Second name pulled will receive 2 VIP Tickets, and the final name pulled will receive 2 VIP Tickets. All entries must be submitted through the provided link to the survey. Any answers or attempts to enter by submitting answers through any other means; email, Facebook post… will not be entered into the contest. Contest will expire Sept 30th 2012. Winners will be announced on Wilwoods Facebook Page: on October 3rd"

EBC Brake Rotors - Nissan 240SX - $162.10 - Auto Parts Warehouse

Monday, September 10, 2012

Friday, September 7, 2012

Formula DRIFT Insider - Episode 10

This episode of Formula DRIFT Insider showcases the Las Vegas Round of the FD Championship and gives a look at the points and possibilities heading into the final round at Irwindale.  Plus it offers a chance for viewers to win tickets to the event at Irwindale.

378490_Discount Tire